Over the years, Facebook-owned WhatsApp has introduced several privacy-related updates in the app, ranging from disabling your read receipts, blue ticks, hiding the profile picture from certain contacts, hiding your last seen etc.
This time the company has come up with a new update where the user will be able to hide the ‘Online’ indicator which comes on the top signaling whether the user is online or not.
A report by WABetaInfo, which is known for predicting upcoming WhatsApp features way before it is launched has suggested that the platform is currently working on the new feature and users will soon be able to get their hands on this feature.
How will this feature work?
WhatsApp will allow users to choose between two setting options — one can either set the option for ‘Everyone’ where everyone will be able to see if the user is active, or the user can select the ‘Same as Last Seen’ option which shows the online option only to those who have the permission to see your ‘Last Seen’.
Depending on what option the user chooses, the ‘Online’ status will be shown accordingly. It is reported that the option will soon be available for Android devices as well. The implementation of this new option will first be available to the beta users.
Meanwhile, Social media giant Meta had plans to launch the payment-to-merchant application on its WhatsApp platform in Brazil last year.
However, issues cropped up while signing with local ‘merchant acquirers’, the companies responsible for processing electronic payments. Time is needed for the initialization of the services to work, which may have halted the progress. WhatsApp is still awaiting the approval of Brazil’s central bank to get things going.